The Aristocats Kids

Presented by Spotlight Acting School Ages 4-11

In the heart of Paris, a kind and eccentric millionairess wills her entire estate to Duchess, her high-society cat, and her three little kittens. Laughs and adventure ensue as the greedy, bumbling butler pulls off the ultimate catnap caper. Now it’s up to the rough-and-tumble alley cat, Thomas O’Malley, and his band of swingin’ jazz cats to save the day.

The Spotlight Playhouse
January 25-27  7:00pm
January 28  2:00pm
February 1-3  7:00pm
February 4  2:00pm

Tickets on Sale 1/12/2018

So, you think you can write a play? – The Spotlight Festival of Short Plays

Short plays and musicals that are no more than 15 pages in length with an average runtime of less than 30 minutes.

Writers may submit only 1 play, including plays they have co-authored.

Each nomination must submit a separate Submission Form.

Plays must be typed. See the format guide attached.

Plays presented in previous Spotlight Festivals are not eligible for re-submission.

Poetry and short story readings will not be accepted.

The Spotlight Acting School, Inc. Festival Committee, in its sole and absolute discretion, shall select plays for participation in the 2018 Spotlight Festival from among all entries, and its decisions are final.

All submissions must be submitted by the Author[s] of the Play.

The author is responsible for co-producing the play in the event that the work is selected as a Festival participant. The responsibilities of the Producer include, but are not limited to, assisting in or suggesting casting; our 2018 festival is a non-equity festival; working with the appointed director or self-directing the work, assisting technical personnel; attending rehearsals; and assisting with costumes.

Script submissions will be accepted in digital format only. Each submission should be submitted as a single PDF or Microsoft Word Compatible (.doc, .docx) document. Documents must be labeled as follows: PlayTitle_Author’s Last Name.pdf (or .doc/.docx). Email the completed document as an attachment to .

All portions of the application must be complete.

Submission Form link

Spotlight Acting School, Inc. will announce the winners at the performance of Alice in Wonderland February 10th 2018 followed by posting the results on its website.

Three TaII Women

Winner of the 1994 Pulitzer Prize. This engaging examination of the life of one woman is one of the biggest hits to grace the stage.

“One of America’s finest playwrights.  AIbee offers a new play so good it can only exist on the stage. A perfect illustration of why theater is an indispensable art.” —NY Times.

“A dazzler…Worthy of mention in the same breath as Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and A Delicate Balance. Three TaII Women blazes as bright as a midsummer day. Electrifying and heartrending, each of Albee’s women is memorable…” —Wall Street Journal.

The Spotlight Playhouse
Fri, Jan 19 2018, 8:00PM
Sat, Jan 20 2018, 8:00PM
Sun, Jan 21 2018, 2:00PM

Tickets – $10 / Seniors $8 / Students $5
(On sale Jan. 5th)

Auditions – Valentine’s Murder Mystery Dinner Show

Open Auditions – January 6th – 6pm – Ages 18+
Presented by The Bluegrass Players
The Spotlight Playhouse – Berea
See more details below

We are putting together a somewhat child-friendly (PG) show to offer everyone a great time this Valentine’s Day. The focus will be on love, mystery, and deceit. The comedy this time will be derived from the over-seriousness of the characters in completely absurd situations.  Some songs may be added, but it will not be billed as a complete musical. The Film Noir style is very fun to act out and what better place than Italy.  Of course, our caterer will get in on the theme to complete the experience properly.

Join the cast of this next dinner show and have a great time raising funds for a great cause.  All proceeds go to benefit the Spotlight Acting School and its mission to never turn a student away regardless of their available financial resources.

Proposed Rehearsal Schedule

The Spotlight Theatre – Richmond
Tue Jan 9 / 8 – 9:30pm
Thu Jan 11 / 8 – 9:30pm
Sun Jan 14 / 8 – 9:30pm
Tue Jan 16 / 8 – 9:30pm
Thu Jan 18 / 8 – 9:30pm

The Spotlight Playhouse – Berea
Mon Jan 22 / 8:30 – 10pm
Wed Jan 24 / 8:30 – 10pm
Mon Jan 29 / 8:30 – 10pm
Wed Jan 31 / 8:30 – 10pm
Sun Feb 4 / 8:30 – 10pm
Tue Feb 6 / 8:30 – 10pm
Sun Feb 11 / 6 – 8pm
Mon Feb 12 / 6 – 8pm
Tue Feb 13 / 6 – 8pm

Performance – Berea
Wed Feb 14 / 6:30 – 9pm
Fri Feb 16 / 6:30 – 9pm
Sat Feb 17 / 6:30 – 9pm

Auditions – Agatha Christie’s – And Then There Were None

Open Auditions – January 8th – 6pm – Ages 16+
Presented by The Bluegrass Players
Students Age 16-17 must be enrolled in Spotlight Acting School.
The Spotlight Theatre at Richmond Mall 
See more details below

“A perfect combination of thriller and detective story, this much-copied plot is Christie’s greatest technical achievement.” – John Curran, The Guardian

Ten strangers are summoned to a remote island. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. As the weather turns and the group is cut off from the mainland, the bloodbath begins and one by one they are brutally murdered in accordance with the lines of a sinister nursery rhyme.

One of Christie’s darkest tales and a masterpiece of dramatic construction, its growing sense of dread and unfaltering tension will keep you guessing to the very end.

8m, 3f


Participants will be expected to cold read and act out a scene.  Monologues are welcome, but not required.

Proposed Rehearsal Schedule
Wed Jan 10 / 6 – 7:30pm
Mon Jan 15 / 6 – 7:30pm
Wed Jan 17 / 6 – 7:30pm
Mon Jan 22 / 7 – 8:30pm
Wed Jan 24 / 7 – 8:30pm
Mon Jan 29 / 7 – 8:30pm
Wed Jan 31 / 7 – 8:30pm
Mon Feb 5 / 8:30 – 10pm
Wed Feb 7 / 8:30 – 10pm
Mon Feb 12 / 8 – 9:30pm
Mon Feb 19 / 7 – 8:30pm
Wed Feb 21 / 7 – 8:30pm
Sun Feb 25 / 7 – 9pm
Mon Feb 26 / 7 – 9pm
Tue Feb 27 / 7 – 9pm
Wed Feb 28 / 7 – 9pm
Thu Mar 1 / 7 – 9pm

Fri Mar 2 / 7 – 9pm
Sat Mar 3 / 7 – 9pm
Sun Mar 4 / 2 – 4pm
Fri Mar 9 / 7 – 9pm
Sat Mar 10 / 7 – 9pm